You Know What? Girls Got Kicks!!!


Every now and then I take out my Senior Memories book from high school and turn to the one page that still scares me to death…you know that page, the one where you lay out your hopes and dreams for the future. Its true what they say about writing stuff like that down; you do actually hold yourself more accountable. Anyways, I love the fact that even at 17 years old, I was able to wish for something completely open to my own definition. It was simple, “I want to be happy.”

So lets fast forward to Tiffany at 28 and I can actually say that I am happy due to one main reason: I’m proud of the person that I’ve become. (How many folks you know that can say that?) Twice this week I was reminded of who someone to be proud of looked like. First, I was dancing my ass off at a happy hour when the DJ played in his Heavy D tribute set, “Black Coffee”. You see I was like 12 going on 30, trying to be grown already, dressing up in my mom’s clothes, pushing my bedtime and curfew to the limit, when this song dropped. But this song, this song, those lyrics…”she can still be a lady when she’s coolin wit’ the fellas…a very nice girl but not mistaken for no softy…black coffee, no sugar no cream,” I knew who I wanted to be, who I had to be. Anyways, that took me back.

Now the second time I was proud (and the whole reason for this blog post) was my crowning “Brown Sugar” moment. “So Tiffany, when did you fall in love with sneakers?” Yo, my mind was blown when a fellow blogger asked me this question at the Girls Got Kicks Book Release event this Saturday. My mind automatically went to my first pair of Chucks (Celtic Green) and how much play I was getting rocking them. But then I took a minute to think about why I began loving sneakers after that. Really, those Chucks were a changing point in my life where I decided that it was okay to have the best of both worlds. I could be a tomboy and a girly-girl…which surprisingly, there is actually a whole section in the book dedicated to just that very subject. I’m so proud that I was able to rock those kicks with dresses back then and still do it today. Somebody may need to check my id because it just might read, bad motherfucker on it. I’m just saying…

Anyways, I have no complaints for Ms. Lori Lobenstine, founder of Female Sneaker Fiend and author of Girls Got Kicks. The pics and quotes of the ladies from around the world in their kicks are awesome (big ups to photographer Amanda Lopez). Pick up a copy. You will definitely not be disappointed. As for the event, the highlight for me had to be the dudes picking up the book. That says something!

I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from the book from Rami Nhlapo of Johannesburg, South Africa, “I think to own something like a passion for sneakers says something about you as a girl, and it sets you apart, makes you stand out. It shows that you choose to define an aesthetic for yourself on your own terms.”

Peace

Leave a Reply

