Definition


“If I didn’t define myself for myself, I would be crunched into other people’s fantasies for me and eaten alive.”~ Audre Lorde

This post comes from a personal place. You see, around this time last year was the beginning of what really felt like the end at that time. My corporate career would be non-existent in a couple short weeks. Every ounce of health (mental, physical, spiritual, financial) was dwindling. And, to top it off, my place of peace, my home, had been defiled by an unsupportive and unattentive boyfriend that shall remain nameless. Life pretty much fucking sucked! Lets just call a spade a spade, huh. Anyways, as a 27 year-old that always appeared to have their shit together, I became unglued because I wasn’t prepared for when I could no longer live up to the person others felt I should be. Lets just say that my picture wouldn’t be found dead next to the definition others had written for me. So begins the year of discovery….

I loved Event Planning. I ran a pretty awesome meetup group, DC Divas-Doing Our Thing, a couple years back. I had started doing events on the side. I went to GWU School of Business and got my Event Management Certificate. I was going to be an Event Planner. So Ingenious Events, my side hustle, became my main thing. But that name “ingenious” has been troubling from day one. And as a small business startup its not like I had dollars for branding. So I just “did-it-myself”. I drew inspiration (read conformed) from other event planning sites…brides, flowers, cakes, yadda-yah. Its been doing the trick so far. However, things for the company have been going very well and its time to seek the help of professionals to take Ingenious Events to the next level…enter this way too long blog.

Ever been stressed out because you’re paying someone good money to ask you to define your company, not yourself? (kinda crazy) Well I was beyond stressed. I mean I have referrals coming out the ying-yang right now, but I hate sending them to my website and other materials because there is nothing “ingenious” about it…there’s nothing me about it either. So my graphic designer tells me to do something that makes me sick to my stomach, “look at some other event planning sites”. Square One motherfucka, kill me now! Needless to say, I’ve been going back and forth trying to find a balance between what others define an event management company as and who I am. Well, it hit me this evening that I need to define Ingenious Events for myself. I am the brand.

World English Dictionary

brand (brænd)

n

1. a particular product or a characteristic that serves to identifya particular product

So, with all that said, out with old and in with the new. I’ve already started the ball rolling for whats up for the Ingenious Events brand…lets just say it will involve photographers, stylists, party rentals, and a whole lot of ummpphh!Since I’m the brand, who am I? I’m a Social Eventrodinaire, Do-It-Yourself Guru, Food & Cocktail Adventurist, Tomboy-Chic Fashionista, Supporter of Words Beats & Life, Gadget Junkie, Punk First, Trendy Second Persona, NFL & NBA Fanatic, Hip-Hop/ R&B/ Soul Music Lifer, and forever the H.D.I.C. (Head Diva in Charge).

Love ya for reading and I challenge you to define yourself!

6 thoughts on “Definition

  1. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  2. You have so much to offer. It would troublesome if we didn’t get to see YOU in your own company.

  3. After study a few of the blog posts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  4. Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

  5. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

Leave a Reply

